Checking In!

It’s been an extraordinarily long time since I’ve written a blog. There’s a handful of reasons for that.

1. I’ve been super busy getting ready to move (trying to find employment and an apartment).

2. I’ve been playing video games instead of reading. I’ve been playing the Mega Man Anniversary Collection for Playstation 2 to work my way through the original Mega Man games. Damn, there’s some pretty difficult stuff in those games. I really like the art and music though, and I find the gameplay super addictive. I’ve even been getting “cravings” to platform like a fiend. I’ve also been sporadically playing Metal Gear Solid for the original Playstation. It’s a lot of fun too, but it’s difficult in different ways than Mega Man. I have also spent WAY TOO MUCH TIME playing the first Torchlight game. Way too much. I’ve developed an emotional connection with my pet in the game, and I had mini panic attack when I fed it a fish which turned it into a spider. Partially because I have crippling arachnophobia and I thought I’d modded the game to remove all spiders. But mostly because it wasn’t the cute little lynx which has been with me thus far. Yeah, it’s lame.

3. I’ve been watching a lot of TV on Netflix. My wife has been binge watching the program Supernatural. In the past two months, she’s consumed eight seasons of the show. I also spent an entire day watching the first half of the anime show Attack on Titan. I haven’t finished it yet, but I had to take a bit of a break after watching so much in a single sitting.

4. I’ve been doing a fair amount of cooking. I made shredded buffalo chicken and served it as sandwiches with spinach and goat cheese. I also made gyro pizzas with a modified tzatziki sauce (also with goat cheese), chopped onions, ground lamb, spinach, and peppers. Both recipes which were new for me, and I think both turned out delicious. I also made a rosemary simple syrup which got combined with club soda and lemon juice to make a rosemary lemon soda. Also delicious.

In any event, it’s probably clear I haven’t been doing an awful lot of reading. Well, that’s not completely true. I have been doing a lot of really sporadic reading, reading multiple different books in chunks rather than focusing on a single book.

Needless to say, this means I have not achieved much traction on the original purpose of this blog. I haven’t read a single page further in The Eye of the World since my previous blog. I’d like to blame some of that on stage fright after having committed to the blog, but it’s really just because I hit a bit of a wall in the book. These days I’ve been working on Shadow Ops: Fortress Frontier by Myke Cole, The Crimson Campaign by Brian McClellan, and the short fiction of Dorothy Parker. All of them are excellent.

In the meantime, I also read The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. Never in my life have I spent so much time highlighting and underlining in a book (I tend to baby my books), but I went to town on Dawkins’s book. His prose is compelling, clear, and communicative. I find myself agreeing more and more with much of what he said in the book. As a follow-up to this, I watched two or three of Dawkins’s debates and a TED Talk he did a decade ago (before he wrote The God Delusion). I also watched TED Talks by Sam Harris, Daniel Dennett, and Douglas Adams.

So. . . I’ve been keeping busy.

This doesn’t even address the multiple movies I’ve watched or albums I’ve listened to in the interim. I may write some on those in the near future too.

I intend to jump back on the Wheel of Time soon, but I thought I ought to check in on this blog.

Leave a Reply

